Understanding the two Opt Out behaviors in ThruText


When completing an opt out request, you may encounter two types of behavior depending on the provider provisioning that campaign's texting assignment.


NOTE - Provider 1 is the experience for most U.S. campaigns, and Provider 2 is the experience for U.K., Canada, and some U.S. campaigns. 


Provider Type 1 experience

If a contact responds to a message requesting they be opted out (e.g., they reply STOP), the contact will still be able to send additional messages and receive any additional replies you send until you click the "Opt Out" button.


Messenger view after opt-out request but before clicking the opt-out button:

Provider 1 opt out

Example of a contact's view from their cell after the opt-out request has been completed:

Provider 1 contact's device

After clicking the "Opt Out" button in the Messenger's Top Bar, the organization's global opt-out message for the account will be sent to the contact, and the conversation will disappear from your assignment list.


Provider Type 2 experience

If a contact responds to a message requesting they be opted out using provider-recognized keywords (e.g., they reply STOP), the contact will immediately receive the provider's opt-out message. They cannot send additional messages or receive any replies you send even before you click the "Opt Out" button. This is because the campaign provider blocks all messages after the contact sends the keyword. 


Messenger view after opt-out request but before clicking the "Opt Out" button:

Provider 2 opt outExample of a contact's view from their cell after the opt-out request has been completed:

Provider 2 contact's device

After the opt-out button is clicked, the organization's global opt out message for the account will not be sent to the contact; however, it is very important to still click the opt out button so that accurate data is collected for your organization. After the opt-out button is clicked, the opt-out will be recorded for the organization, and the conversation will disappear from your assignment.


Please review Opt Outs for Texters for more information on opting contacts out.