For the contact that refuses a text message
Opting recipients out of future texts is one of a message sender's most important jobs in ThruText. Failure to opt people out can lead to legal consequences and significant fines. There are two key things you need to know about opt-outs:
- Opt outs are final. Once you opt out someone out, they won't receive another text message from your organization through ThruText. If you opt out a contact in error, please contact your organization's texting administrators to remove the contact's opt-out status.
- Opt outs do not happen automatically. Texters need to recognize that a recipient wants to be taken off an organization's texting list and then manually opt them out.
How do you decide to Opt Out?
If someone wants to be taken off your organization's texting list, they tend to say so directly, e.g., "Take me off your list," or "please stop texting me." It is important to acknowledge their concern and let them know you are opting them out, as once someone is opted out, they can't receive another message. A preset opt out message will be shared with the contact when you confirm the request by clicking the "Opt Out" button.
If you are ever unsure whether someone wants to be removed, just ask like this:
Starting an Opt Out
Once you're sure someone wants to be opted out, click the "Opt Out" button above your conversation window.
Completing an Opt Out
Once you click the Opt Out button, you'll be asked if you are sure you want to opt them out. Make sure to click that "Opt out" button to confirm so that the contact will no longer be able to receive messages going forward and will receive the final message confirming they have been opted out: